Inspiring Enchantment & Illumination with Tarot & Intuitive Guidance

Seven – Seven – Seven

If you’re an asker, you’ll be a knower:
Poetry’s knotty and wily –

The riddles you hear are windows,

And the door is enquiry…

– Gofraidh Fionn O Dalaigh

There is certainly a fair bit of hoopla going on in the mundane world about today’s lucky numbers. So I thought I would suspend our exploration of the Ruby Realms, and instead share some of the more esoteric, magical lore, upon which many of the *Muggles’ tales are based.

Seven is an incredibly powerful number. It appears throughout Nature and magical systems. There are the seven colors of the visible light spectrum, and seven notes of the Western musical scale. Western science recognizes seven chief glands in the human body, called the endocrine glands; while Eastern systems recognized seven chakras, or centers of force, in our subtle, energetic body.

The septagram is important in the Western Kabbalah, where it symbolizes the sphere of Netzach, the seven planets, the seven alchemical metals, and the seven days of the week. There are seven branches to the Tree of Life, each having seven leaves. These leaves are symbols of fertility, renewal and growth. And on the famous Gundestrup Cauldron, the stag antlers of Cernunnos are depicted with seven points, or tines.

There are the seven visible heavenly bodies which make up our solar system, with the planets Uranus, Neptune and former planet Pluto, not being visible to the naked eye. These were understood in medieval astrology as the seven Ancient and Sacred planets: Saturn, Jupiter, Mars, Sun, Venus, Mercury, and the Moon or Luna. Everything upon Earth is under the governance, astrologically speaking, of these seven influences.

This is, in fact, why we have the seven-day week. Each day is ruled by one of the ancient luminaries or planets. The Sun rules Sunday, the Moon Monday, Mars Tuesday, Mercury Wednesday, Jupiter governs Thursday, Venus is Friday, and Saturn rules Saturday. These rulerships go back to the days of ancient Chaldea and Babylon.

Seven is traditionally associated with Venus and more recently with Neptune. It is the number of feelings and of instincts – of the Group Mind and spiritual consciousness. It is also the number of Love, in whatever forms it may take – with varying degrees of sexuality, and whether it is towards other humans, animals, oneself, or the Divine.

There are seven stars in the Pleiadean Star System, known as the Seven Sisters. This mystical star constellation has been revered throughout the world since antiquity and has been called the center of the Universe, the seat of immortality, and the home of the Divine.

The seven-pointed star (also called the Faery or Elven Star) is considered to be a gateway and connection to the faery realm. For some, its seven points represent the seven magical elements: earth, air, fire, water, life, light, and magic. In the sacred circle, we have the four quarters, or cardinal points, of north, south, east and west, plus the height and depth, above and below. These are the six directions, with the center of the circle, the place of stillness from which they all radiate, comprising the seventh.

Other traditions (based on the teachings of Doreen Valiente) connect it with the Seven Qualities, which are regarded as the seven basic requirements for attainment in the Craft: Humility, Respect, Trust, Kindness, Truth, Honor and Dignity.

Last but not least, there is a natural formation within the numbered cards of the Tarot’s Major Arcana that consists of three sevens. When the Fool (which is the zero) is set aside, you can arrange the other cards in three horizontal rows of cards 1-7, then 8-14, then 15- 21. These can be thought of as the three septenaries, each containing a key to the understanding of the evolution of the soul.

* Muggles, in case you’re not a Harry Potter fan, are non-magical people.

Share this:

Comments on this entry are closed.

  • August 28, 2007, 2:45 am PaganGoddess

    I named my black kittie Seven. She is magical, just like the number. And I loved reading about it.